top of page
Search

The Art of Being Invisible pt. 4

Updated: Nov 24, 2018

I watch on,

Helpless as my sisters are torn apart by the men whose eyes undress.

Whose fingers dig in deep

Whose bodies weigh down and crush

Whose lips whisper words that have no meaning

Whose mouths ravish

I watch on helpless as my sisters are torn apart by men who

Have no right


I give myself to you freely

My hand will hold yours

My mind will think of only you

My body will become one with yours

My soul will not wander

I give myself freely


I’m sick and tired of waiting around until I’m

‘Convenient’

for you


Your comments cut me like a knife, plunging deep within.

Your words leave scars on my heart, making me believe I have sinned.

Your love is drowned out by what you say, what I think you now believe.

I’m afraid I’ve fallen into your web made of all the lies you weave.


You were the boat that kept me from drowning.

But you capsized.


It’s addicting: the feeling of dragging a blade across your skin.

The feeling of pain coming from somewhere other than within.


I’m out at sea and I need my lighthouse to bring me home.

But a fog is rolling in.

I’m lost.


I’m sinking but you bring me to the surface.

I’m suffocating but you give me air.

I’m hurting but you heal me.

I’m screaming but you hear me

I’m dying but you give me life.


The thing in your hand is taking you away from me.

The thing in your hand is a distraction.

The thing in your hand is becoming more important to you than me

Why?

Why have I become less intriguing to you than this lifeless thing?


What’s wrong?” they ask “are you okay?”

But I haven’t got a clue what to say.

What is wrong?

I don’t know, wish I did.

Am I okay?

Can I survive another day?

If I knew what was wrong I would scream and I’d shout.

I’d cry to the moon and let it all out.

But my voice has been silenced, betrayed by my mind.

Filled with emotion and pain, carefully twined

Around a heart and a body that’s about to give up.

A time bomb tick-tocking,

About to blow up.

I don’t know what’t wrong,

I wish that I knew

Because even with all the help in the world,

I’ve still got no clue what to do.


©2018


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page