top of page
Search

The Art of Being Invisible pt. 14

Updated: Nov 24, 2018

I wish I could see the places

Your mind goes when you’re alone.

I wish I could feel your heartbeat

When we’re talking on the phone.

I wish I could tell you ‘it’s okay’

Not all mistakes need be atoned.

I wish I could know your pain

As if it were my own

And most of all I wish, I could be by your side

Until we’re both just dust and stone.


How long can we stand it

This cage we’ve been thrust in

How long until we’re free

To roam the places we’ve once been

How long have we been stuck here

Unfeeling and unknown

How long did it take

Until our hearts were cold as stone

How long will they leave us here

Waiting to get out

How long until our voices

Are no longer able to shout

How much longer can we bear it

Before we understand

However long we’re trapped here

Has been left unplanned.

How long until we realize

We’re not the only of our kind

How much time does it take to understand

We’re all just trapped in our own mind.


I knew I loved you from the start,

And I knew you’d leave your mark

I thought love stayed forever,

But in the end all that was left of our spark

Were bruises on my heart


If we could tell people not to fall in love,

The world would be saved a lot of heartbreak.

But sometimes, that heartbreak is worth it.


I miss being little

Not yet sensible enough to be scared

Resilient enough to bounce back


Soldier boy come running

Far away from harm

Soldier boy come running

Into your mother’s arms.

Soldier boy come running

Away from hate and violence

Soldier boy come running

Home to loving quietness.

Soldier boy come running

We miss you so so much

Soldier boy come running

Into your family’s clutch.

Soldier boy come running

You’re always on our minds

Soldier boy come running

And stay ‘till time rewinds.

Soldier boy come running

Come back to where you’re known

Soldier boy come running

Soldier boy come home.


Never dull the gifts you’ve been given.

Embrace them and let them shine.


The flowers that bloom in spring

Always want to grow taller,

Bloom larger

Be brighter

Until winter storms rage leaving them wilted and frozen

Longing for their wasted days of warmth

~Appreciation


They snickered and sneered

“You’ll never be as good as us”

“You’re right. I’ll be better”

She proved


These eyes are red and weary from a lack of sleep…

And a lack of hope.


©2018


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page