top of page
Search

The Art of Being Invisible pt. 12

Updated: Nov 24, 2018

Sitting by the phone, waiting; alone.

Wondering if you’re thinking about me too.


Do you ever feel like you’re nothing but air?

A waste of space without a face.


What happened to the girl in her little dream world?

What happened to the boy who used to play just with toys?

What happened to the girl who was unscarred, untouched, unmarred?

What happened to the boy who was confident; whose soul was not spent?

What happened to the people whose lives were so full?

Where did it all go?

What happened to the people whose skin was uncut?

What happened to the people who only felt that they were loved?

What happened to the joy, the love, the peace?

Where did it all go?


Where do we go from here?

When all we can do is sit down and drink beer,

When all that will take away the pain,

Is cutting deep into a vein.

When all the words spoken are full of spite, who will stand up?

Who will fight?

What happens now that we have lost so many.

Because people think lives are worth less than a goddamn penny.

What do we do?

Where can we go to start anew?


I’ve been lost and floating across the sea.

A note in a bottle waiting for you to open me.

You’re the wish I make upon a star,

You’re what I look for near and far.

The coins I throw into a well,

For you my heart and soul I’ll sell.


Every day I come to school and I see your face.

I know you’re just one person,

But you take up all my time and space.

I’ve been in your orbit for a little too long,

So I decided to write you this goodbye song.

My head hurts just a little too much.

My heart is screaming I love you so much.

Your soul is a melody so perfect for yourself.

Mine is a harmony collection dust upon a shelf.


I’ve wanted him for so long.

And now I have him.

I couldn’t be happier.

But…

I’m terrified he’s going to ruin me.

And I’m going to let him.


You say you miss me.

I miss you too,

But I think it’s in a different way,

Because I’m missing the old you.


It’s funny how people say they’ll always be there for you.

But the second you do something for yourself,

They’re nowhere to be found.


I love you.

I swear it’s true,

But darling,

I have to love me too.


©2018


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page