top of page
Search

The Art of Being Invisible pt. 11

Updated: Nov 24, 2018

I’m sending this note to you from way across the sea

A message in a bottle to bring you back to me.

I haven’t seen you for such a long time,

Have you changed all that much?

A promise we didn’t manage to keep—we’ve gotten out of touch.

I send this message, this prayer, this hope,

That the waves, the foam, the seabirds here will bring you back to me.


A flower that blooms is only as good as the soil it comes from.


You always need an answer, an explanation, a reason…

For everything.

But I’m an unsolvable puzzle,

A riddle with no answer,

A life without a reason,

So how on earth can you possibly want me?


If I don’t know something,

I’m not stupid.

I just haven’t learned it yet.

So teach me.


The seconds tick by to minutes, then hours, and yet you do not come.

~Insomnia


Stay with me tonight my dear,

So that we may be,

Among the things that we hold near,

For all eternity.


These are the eyes that I have kept closed.

These are the places I dared not to go.

These are the words that I left unspoken.

These are the hearts that have been broken.

These are my hopes, my dreams, my fears.

All of my life shall lay right here.


Find me in these places,

Learn me in these pages,

Love me in these memories,

Hold me in your heart.


I can see it in you.

I can see it in your eyes, your smile.

I can hear it in your laugh, in your voice.

I can tell that something is off.

Your eyes don’t shine as bright.

Your laugh doesn’t sound as loud.

Your smile is no longer wide.

Your voice is so much more cautious.

Why?

Your eyes are screaming with empty tears.

Your laugh is cracking with sadness.

Your smile is frozen and locked in place.

Your voice has lost the words to ask for help.

You’re hurting.

It’s plain to see,

It’s plain to hear.

And yet you stay silent.

You’re hurting.

You’re crying.

You’re cracking.

You’re breaking.

And yet you stay silent.

Why is that?

Perhaps it’s because you don’t think there’s anyone there to listen.

Perhaps it’s because you don’t believe you’re worth listening to.

Perhaps it’s because you no longer see the point in trying.

Please,

It’s not true.

Please,

Don’t stay silent.


What do I need from you?

How can I tell what’s true?

I’m so confused, losing grip of reality,

I need you here to help me see.

What would I do without you?

How could I breath without you reminding me to?


©2018


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page