top of page
Search

Bittersweet Pt. 4

“I love you” is not an excuse.


I told you I was happy,

That for the first time in so long,

I felt free and careless.

You didn’t say anything,

But when I looked at you,

There was a smile on your face,

And you just held me tighter.


I crave the moments where it’s just us

No distractions

No people

No games

Just you

And me

Our words

Our love

Us


I dream of finding you again one day.

On an empty street corner

In a crowded room

On a rain soaked porch.

I see you and my heart gives up the fight.

You came back.


You’re a comet streaming across the sky

Searching for the other part of your star

It takes a while,

But you find each other right on course

And you collide

Exploding like the sun.


Darling, you put their words to shame.


They have no right to your body.

You owe them nothing.


They should be the person you cry to.

Not the person you cry about.


Sometimes you just need to be sad.

Sometimes you just need to cry.

Sometimes nothing is wrong.

Sometimes everything is wrong.

Sometimes you feel alone.

Sometimes there are too many people.

Sometimes you just need to let it out.

Sometimes you just beet to be sad.

And that’s okay.


They tell me the leaves are dancing in the wind.

They’re wrong.

The leaves are falling

Tumbling

Crashing

Spinning out of control

Pulled this way and that

Out of their comfort zone

Into the path of your treacherous feet.


It’s when the pain turns to emptiness

You know you’re screwed.

Art By Andromeda Tallman


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page