top of page
Search

Bittersweet pt. 1

How stupid was I?

To not realize how much faster my heart beat when you were near.

To not comprehend that the endless laughter was really just the butterflies trying to escape my body.

To believe that my love for you was nothing more than friendship.

How stupid were you?

To not know that every touch was an excuse for me to get closer.

That every ‘love you’ was meant with every fiber of my being.

To not realize that every movement you made was torture on my soul

How stupid were we?


You say you wanna focus on yourself:

Do it.

Stop blaming me and figure out your own shit.


People are too busy worrying about their own lives. If they pry or gossip or joke about you, it’s only because they’re so miserable in their own lives that they have to fuck up someone else’s for a change.


And every time you weren’t there,

You were just teaching me to live without you.


Don’t worry yourself over the other girls.

If he is truly yours-he is yours alone.

And if he’s not,

Then he wasn’t worth your thoughts and tears in the first place.


How naive was I to believe that happy endings existed?

How long did I believe that my prince would come and dreams would come true?

Too long.

I was so naive for so many years believing that fairy-tale endings just happen.

They don’t

You make them possible.


Wishing on a star will only take you so far.



It’s funny how you can see the beginning of the end.

How something happens and you know:

That’s it. I’m not fighting for them anymore.

Then it’s even funnier how you prove yourself wrong.

Again.


We’re sending our thoughts and prayers that aren’t fucking enough.

We’re sending our hopes that the lives that were lost were not lost in vain.

They were.

We’re sending our love for publicity.

Not for your children.

We’re sending our thoughts and prayers

That won’t bring them back.


©2018

Taken By: Teresa Irene Vick

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page